Civic Health Conference Speakers

Keynote Speakers

Deborah Turner MD, JD
OB-GYN and President of the League of Women Voters
Hahrie Han, PhD
Director of the SNF Agora Institute at Johns Hopkins University and the P3 Lab
Desmond Meade, JD
President of the Florida Rights Restoration Coalition and Chair of Floridians for a Fair Democracy
Donald Berwick, MD, MPP
President Emeritus, Institute for Healthcare Improvement and former Administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
Andrea Benjamin, PhD
Associate Professor of African and African American Studies at the University of Oklahoma
Brandon Grant, MPH
Strategic Support Manager in the office of the CEO at Penn Medicine
Parissa Ballard, PhD
Assistant Professor of Family and Community Medicine at the Wake Forest School of Medicine.
Lekha Chilakamarri
MD Candidate at UT-RGV and Co-Chair of Med Out the Vote
Maria Santos
MD Candidate at the University of Michigan and National Vice President and Chair of Policy at LMSA
Kristina Whiton-O'Brien, LICSW
Assistant Director at Boston University School of Social Work
Mojdeh Rohani, LICSW
Executive Director at De Novo Center for Justice and Healing
Surabhi Bhatt, MS
Senior Associate on the Population Health team at Oak Street Health
Jesse Sneath
Director of Social Innovation at Warby Parker
Margaret Stager, MD
Director of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine at MetroHealth Medical Center,  Chair of the Section on Adolescent Health at the AAP
Hannah Klain, JD
Equal Justice Works Fellow in the Democracy Program at the Brennan Center for Justice
Debi Lombardi
Director of Partner Engagement at Nonprofit VOTE
Zonía Moore
MD candidate at the Perelman School of Medicine, currently working on project with Vot-ER, SaniPack, and Eden Care.
Richard Eidlin
National Policy Director, Business for America
Stephanie Fong-Gomez, MD, MS
Pediatric resident at UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital Oakland, founder of the VOICE Project to promote youth civic participation and train providers around civic engagement.
Geoffrey Wilkinson, MSW
Clinical Associate Professor at the Boston University School of Social Work  and director of the Leadership Core of the BU Center for Innovation in Social Work and Health
Rep. Tami Gouveia, MSW, DrPH
State Representative in the Massachusetts House of Representatives
April Mims, JD
Vice President of Public Policy at Hims & Hers
Tfawa Haynes, LICSW
Clinical Supervisor at The AIDS Action Committee of Massachusetts, faculty on the Transgender Health ECHO at
The National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center.
Betty Ruth, MSW, MPH
Clinical Professor, Emerita, at Boston University School of Social Work
Dorothy Bergold, LICSW
Medical social worker at Mass General Hospital, field advisor for the BUSSW online program
Karen Potter, LICSW
Medical social worker at stroke, neurology, burn, and amputation units at Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital
Elizabeth Cohn, PhD, RN, NP
Founder and Director of Nurses Who Vote
Adrianna Nava, PhD,  RN
President, National Association of Hispanic Nurses
Alec Stone, MA, MPA
Health Policy Director, Oncology Nursing Society
Trey Grayson, JD, MBA
Former Secretary of State for Kentucky, Director of CivicPoint
Alister Martin, MD, MPP
Founder & Executive Director of Vot-ER
Maya Alper
Senior Associate at ideas42's Voting Innovation Lab
Terry Mizrahi, MSW, PhD
Co-chair of the Special Commission to Advance Macro Practice in Social Work and founder of the National Social Work Voter Mobilization Campaign.
Elizabeth Datner, MD
Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Einstein Healthcare Network, Adjunct Senior Fellow of the Leonard Davis Institute for Health Economics
Jon Kusner
MS5 at Harvard Medical School, Co-Chair of Med Out the Vote
Brenda Wright, JD
Senior Advisor for Legal Strategies at Demos, national expert on voting rights, campaign finance reform, redistricting, and election administration
Halea Meese, MD
PGY1 in the UNM Family Medicine Program
Megan Schultz, MD, MA
Pediatric Emergency Physician, Assistant Professor at Medical College of Wisconsin
Ali Raja, MD, MBA
Director of Network Operations and Business Development for the Department of Emergency Medicine and the Associate Director of Trauma for Brigham and Women's Hospital
Director, Government Affairs & Educational Programs
Organization of Nurse Leaders
President of the New York Academy of Medicine